Who would have thought I would finally get here?!

I am anxious. That’s the word to describe how I feel now that I have opened my first “official” blog. I’m more nervous than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs! I’ve been writing here and there at work and personally. A couple of friends have always asked me do my own thing or to at least feature in their blogs.. But now that we’re here? I’ll be honest to say that I am so flustered!

I’m more nervous than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs!

I do not know where to start. I do not even know what I want to write about, talk about or post about. Heck! I’m still getting the hang of using the WordPress platform.

Well my guess is to just start with everything and nothing. One post at a time. I am also yet to get the whole hang of ‘having a blogging niche’ thing, so expect random musings on everything from my motherhood experiences to how to DIY guides, to spirituality, to the unbelievable roads a 2WD car can go through in Kenya.

I hope to work on at least one post a month (time allowing). Mainly on travel, motherhood and personal musings. I will always add a touch of my personal photos especially because this has become quite a fascination after I got a good camera and had a baby. You always want to document every moment of their lives. Even the yawns.. Don’t worry I won’t bore you too much with those kinda posts!

With regards to photography, I had been shooting with basic point-and-shoot cameras for a few years until about two years ago, as I traveled across my country. I’m an outdoor enthusiast. The experiences had always come first, while photography had always been a distant second.

“Live, and then take some photos, if you have some time” was my mantra as I packed my bags or bike and moved from one place to another, the small camera buried beneath piles of camping gear, food, clothes and books.

My job and having a friends who are enthusisatic and so passionate about photography inspired me to put more effort capturing all my outdoor moments. Though I do not want to join the photography fad or the thousands of ramblers who seem to travel around the globe (or their neighborhood) only for the only sake of taking pictures, whatever they might be, forgetting to “live” those moments in the meantime. I have learnt that both are intertwined and cannot be separated: “live while shooting, and shoot while living” could sum it up.

1002393_10153035359565227_1144991489_n

Do I regret not having more photos from that period? That’s a tricky question: I enjoyed every moment I spent at every place, and they stay vividly in my mind. However, memory fades. Photography can help it to remain sharp, and awake. Maybe I have lost things that I could otherwise retain, had I keenly snapped pictures back then. And so, new beginnings and walks are about to start. But this time I will always have my moments captured. Legs and hands working together, advancing, seeing, strolling, framing, running, snapping. And, along the way, along the shutter presses, multiple smiles, and talks, and surprises. I’m sure of it. Here begins a diary of little discoveries. No matter if I travel far or just around the corner: here’s to random musings, shared wisdom and great moments!

1502327_10202877397154762_1905296275_o

Leave a Reply

